ISBN The Story of the Treasure Seekers book English Paperback

by Nesbit, E.
State: New
$14.66
VAT included - FREE Shipping
Nesbit, E. ISBN The Story of the Treasure Seekers book English Paperback
Nesbit, E. - ISBN The Story of the Treasure Seekers book English Paperback

Do you like this product? Spread the word!

$14.66 incl. VAT
Only 1 items available Only 2 items available
Delivery: between Tuesday, December 7, 2021 and Thursday, December 9, 2021
Sales & Shipping: Dodax

Description

Edith Nesbit was a hugely influential writer whose books include The Railway Children and Five Children and It. The Bastable Series is ripe for rediscovery, and will appeal to fans of Arthur Ransom's Swallows and Amazons, which it inspired.

When their widowed father's business fails, the Bastable children decide to restore the family fortunes themselves. No longer able to afford school, the children have all the time in the world to devise ingenious money-making schemes: from digging for treasure in their Lewisham garden to becoming highwaymen on Blackheath Common. All too often their efforts lead to trouble rather than treasure, until one adventure finally pays off...Published with illustrations by Gordon Browne, newly scanned from the original edition.The Story of the Treasure Seekers is the first book in the Bastable trilogy, which continues with The Wouldbegoods and New Treasure Seekers.'She's the children's writer with whom I most identify. [Nesbit] said, "By some lucky chance, I remember exactly how I felt and thought at 11." That struck a chord with me. The Story of the Treasure Seekers was a breakthrough children's book. Oswald is such a very real narrator, at a time when most people were writing morality plays for children' J. K. Rowling'I loved the direct first-person narrative in the clear, forthright tones of Oswald Bastable' Jacqueline Wilson'Endlessly surprising and inventive. But she is more than that ... She is also simply the funniest writer we have ever had, while being the one who could most easily and sweetly break your heart with a phrase. Just try saying "Daddy oh my Daddy" without catching your breath. She made the magic worlds feel as near as the Lewisham Road and she bathed the Lewisham Road in magic' Frank Cottrell-Boyce A collection that will be coveted by children and adults alike, this list is the best in children's literature, curated by Virago. These are timeless tales with beautiful covers, that will be treasured and shared across the generations. Some titles you will already know

Contributors

Author:
Nesbit, E.

Further information

Language:
English
Number of Pages:
240
Illustrator:
Browne, Gordon
Media Type:
Softcover

Master Data

Product Type:
Paperback book
Release date:
September 26, 2017
Package Dimensions:
0.196 x 0.126 x 0.018 m; 0.2 kg
GTIN:
09780349009537
DUIN:
OBCBFRUTRR1
$14.66
We use cookies on our website to make our services more efficient and more user-friendly. Therefore please select "Accept cookies"! Please read our Privacy Policy for further information.