When All the Girls Are Sleeping

by Arsenault, Emily
State: New
$26.24
VAT included - FREE Shipping
Arsenault, Emily When All the Girls Are Sleeping
Arsenault, Emily - When All the Girls Are Sleeping

Do you like this product? Spread the word!

$26.24 incl. VAT
Only 1 items available Only 1 items available
Delivery: between Tuesday, September 28, 2021 and Thursday, September 30, 2021
Sales & Shipping: Dodax EU

Check other buying options

1 Offer for $29.44

Sold by Dodax

$29.44 incl. VAT
State: New
Free Shipping
Delivery: between Tuesday, September 28, 2021 and Thursday, September 30, 2021
View other buying options

Description


For fans of People Like Us and The Cheerleaders comes an all new psychological suspense novel about one girl's investigation into her friend's sudden death and the unsettling possibility that a killer is still on the loose.

Windham-Farnswood Academy is beautiful, prestigious, historic--the perfect place for girls to prep for college. But every student knows all is not as it seems. Each January, the Winter Girl comes knocking. She's the spirit who haunts the old senior dorm, and this year is no exception.

For Haley, the timing couldn't be worse. This month marks the one-year anniversary of the death of her ex-best friend, Taylor. When a disturbing video of Taylor surfaces, new questions about her death emerge. And it actually looks like Taylor was murdered.

Now, as Haley digs into what really happened last year, her search keeps bringing her back to the Winter Girl. Haley wants to believe ghosts aren't real, but the clues--and the dark school history she begins to undercover--say otherwise. Now it's up to her to solve the mystery before history has a chance to repeat itself and another life is taken.

"A skillfully plotted mystery,...dark secrets await." --Holly Jackson, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Good Girl's Guide to Murder on Emily Arsenault's All the Pretty Things

Contributors

Author:
Arsenault, Emily

Further information

Biography Artist:
Emily Arsenault is the author of several literary mysteries, including In Search of the Rose Notes, a Wall Street Journal Best Book of the Year; The Broken Teaglass, a New York Times Notable Crime Book; and The Evening Spider. She lives in Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts, with her husband and daughter. All the Pretty Things and When All the Girls Are Sleeping are her novels for young adults. To learn more about Emily and her books go to emilyarsenault.com or follow her on Facebook.
Review:
Praise for When All the Girls Are Sleeping:

"A tantalizingly suspenseful read. ... a spooky and compelling examination of what truly haunts us.  
Bookpage

This book kept me hooked from the first page . . . undoubtedly my favorite of the new book releases in July 2021.
Hypable

"Don't read this book at night!  Every word will chill and thrill you--and ultimately keep you racing to turn the pages until you reach the very satisfying end."  Meg Cabot, New York Times best-selling author of the Mediator series

"A moody, haunting, and pristinely plotted mystery with enough eerie twists, turns, and gasps to keep you up at night."  Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces and You'd Be Home Now
 

"A menacing countdown grips hold of you while a sense of foreboding sneaks in like a winter fog. The twist was one I didn't see coming, a whip-smart and satisfying conclusion that kept me up all night!"  Katrina Leno author of Horrid

"Fans of Nova Ren Suma or Mo├»ra Fowley-Doyle will appreciate this layered look at girlhood, ghosts, and trauma."  The Bulletin of the Center for Children s Books

Teens will be spellbound until the very end.   SLJ

Praise for Emily Arsenault's All the Pretty Things:

A skillfully plotted mystery, bursting with the glare and feverish energy of its summer amusement park setting. The atmosphere creeps up on you, wraps you up, and transports you to Fabuland with Ivy, where you ll discover that among the roller-coasters and cotton-candy stalls, dark secrets await.   Holly Jackson, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Good Girl s Guide to Murder

A dark and timely thriller that explores the messy bonds of friendship and family. It kept me guessing until its satisfying, heartbreaking conclusion. Amelia Brunskill, author of The Window

"Taking turns right up to the end...this is more than a thriller, filled with mystery and intrigue. It also speaks to the complexity and internalized struggle of guilt, loss, and loving someone you can t trust."  SLJ

"Atmospheric,...the dark treatment of a unique setting will be enough to intrigue readers looking for something in the vein of Courtney Summers' Sadie."  Booklist
Language:
English
Interest Age:
From 14
Excerpt:

Thirteen Nights Left 

The window is open now, but I don t feel the winter wind. I don t shiver. I don t chatter. Rather, I feel only a sensation of it blowing through the space that used to be me. 

This is what it means to be a ghost. To watch all the other girls live--laugh, talk, sleep, eat, dance, study, scream--while you flicker and fade into the shadows. To wait till night to slip out of nonexistence and into these silent halls in search of your former self. 

You won t find her. 

But still you look. Night after restless night.

 

February 10, 2018 

Dear Members of the Windham-Farnswood Academy Community: 

It is with deepest sadness that I inform you of the loss of one of our students early this morning. Taylor Katherine Blakey, a senior, fell to her death from a Dearborn Hall window between one and two a.m. I and other school faculty have been in close contact with Taylor s family. Please keep them in your thoughts and prayers in the coming days and weeks. 

Campus security and health personnel, along with the Heathsburg town police department, will be conducting a thorough investigation of the incident. 

Counselors Elizabeth Haden, Brenda Alenski, and Charles Utley will be available to students at Dearborn Hall and the health center, and will be visiting the classes in which Taylor was enrolled. They and other school personnel are working with students and staff who were close to Taylor. Students are also encouraged to call or visit the health center office if they need assistance during this difficult time. 

Classes will continue as scheduled today and throughout the remainder of the week, but we urge all students to take the time and assistance they need as we all grieve together. 

Sincerely,

Dr. Shawna Ivins 

Dean of Students

 

Monday, January 28, 2019 

I felt my roommate s gaze on me as I stretched and pulled up my window shade. She was already dressed in a red cardigan over long underwear and a jean skirt. 

Are you okay? Star asked softly, twisting one of the cardigan s shiny black buttons so hard I thought it would come off in her hand. 

Umm . . . sure, I said, but felt one side of my face twitch at the half-truth of it. 

I woke up at about two a.m. and you were, like, playing with your phone. Star frowned, letting her hand fall from the button. 

Couldn t sleep, I admitted. Sorry, you should have said something if the glare was keeping you up.  

It wasn t. Star pulled a hairbrush and hair clip from her desk but just stood there holding them, watching me. 

I looked out the window so I wouldn t have to figure out what kind of expression should be on my face. Outside, there was a powdered-sugar dust over the dirty crusts of ice and snow along the crisscross of paths in the middle of the campus green. It felt like it was never not going to be January. 

I m just an insomniac, I said. And sometimes it s better if I don t fight it.  

I d been on a YouTube tear last night, trying to push back various little guilts and delayed responsibilities--among them, the email from Taylor s brother. He d sent it over a week ago and I still hadn t replied.

Star buttoned her cardigan over her chest, looked at the effect in the full-length mirror between our beds, and then unbuttoned it again.

Why do I have these particular boobs? she asked. I wasn t sure if she was asking me or the universe. 

Why do I have these particular boobs? I said, just in case. 

Becau

Number of Pages:
448
Media Type:
Hardcover
Publisher:
Penguin Random House

Master Data

Product Type:
Paperback book
Release date:
July 13, 2021
Package Dimensions:
0.22 x 0.148 x 0.038 m; 0.56 kg
GTIN:
09780593180792
DUIN:
Q0JU77J35KP
$26.24
We use cookies on our website to make our services more efficient and more user-friendly. Therefore please select "Accept cookies"! Please read our Privacy Policy for further information.