Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore

by Sloan, Robin
State: New
$15.79
VAT included - FREE Shipping
Sloan, Robin Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore
Sloan, Robin - Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore
Sloan, Robin - Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore

Do you like this product? Spread the word!

$15.79 incl. VAT
Only 1 items available Only 2 items available
Delivery: between Thursday, October 7, 2021 and Monday, October 11, 2021
Sales & Shipping: Dodax

Check other buying options

1 Offer for $15.79

Sold by Dodax EU

$15.79 incl. VAT
State: New
Free Shipping
Delivery: between Thursday, October 7, 2021 and Monday, October 11, 2021
View other buying options

Description


A New York Times bestseller, Mr Penumbra's 24-hour Bookstore is an entirely charming and lovable first novel of mysterious books and dusty bookshops; it is a witty and delightful love-letter to both the old book world and the new. Recession has shuffled Clay Jannon out of his life as a San Francisco Web-design drone - and serendipity, coupled with sheer curiosity, has landed him a new job working the night shift at Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore. But after just a few days, Clay begins to realize that this store is even more curious than the name suggests. There are only a few customers, but they come in repeatedly and never seem to actually buy anything, instead they simply borrow impossibly obscure volumes from strange corners of the store, all according to some elaborate, long-standing arrangement with the gnomic Mr. Penumbra. The store must be a front for something larger, Clay concludes, and soon he's embarked on a complex analysis of the customers' behaviour and roped his friends into helping to figure out just what's going on. But once they bring their findings to Mr. Penumbra, it turns out the secrets extend far outside the walls of the bookstore...It is suitable for readers of Scarlett Thomas' The End of Mr Y, Helen Hanff's 84 Charing Cross Road and Jasper Fforde's First Among Sequels.

Contributors

Author:
Sloan, Robin

Further information

Biography Artist:
Robin Sloan wurde 1979 in der Nähe von Detroit geboren und hat an der Michigan State University Wirtschaftswissenschaften studiert. Er hat für Twitter und verschiedene andere Onlineplattformen gearbeitet und schreibt Romane. Robin Sloan lebt in San Francisco.
Review:
A rollicking neo-Borgesian tale... an ode to the beauty of dead-tree books New York Times
Language:
English
Number of Pages:
291
Summary:
A New York Times bestseller, Mr Penumbra's 24-hour Bookstore is an entirely charming and lovable first novel of mysterious books and dusty bookshops; it is a witty and delightful love-letter to both the old book world and the new
Media Type:
Softcover
Publisher:
Atlantic Books

Master Data

Product Type:
Paperback book
Package Dimensions:
0.176 x 0.11 x 0.022 m; 0.16 kg
GTIN:
09781782392330
DUIN:
1G7ME78DS97
$15.79
We use cookies on our website to make our services more efficient and more user-friendly. Therefore please select "Accept cookies"! Please read our Privacy Policy for further information.