ISBN Speak No Evil book Hardcover 224 pages

by Iweala, Uzodinma
State: New
$26.65
VAT included - FREE Shipping
Iweala, Uzodinma ISBN Speak No Evil book Hardcover 224 pages
Iweala, Uzodinma - ISBN Speak No Evil book Hardcover 224 pages

Do you like this product? Spread the word!

$26.65 incl. VAT
Only 1 items available Only 21 items available
Delivery: between Monday, September 27, 2021 and Wednesday, September 29, 2021
Sales & Shipping: Dodax EU

Check other buying options

1 Offer for $27.04

Sold by Dodax

$27.04 incl. VAT
State: New
Free Shipping
Delivery: between Monday, September 27, 2021 and Wednesday, September 29, 2021
View other buying options

Description

A lovely slender volume that packs in entire worlds with complete mastery. Speak No Evil explains so much about our times and yet is never anything less than a scintillating, page-turning read.—Gary ShteyngartA wrenching, tightly woven story about many kinds of love and many kinds of violence. Speak No Evil probes deeply but also with compassion the cruelties of a loving home. Iweala’s characters confront you in close-up, as viscerally, bodily alive as any in contemporary fiction.—Larissa MacFarquharIn the long-anticipated novel from the author of the critically acclaimed Beasts of No Nation, a revelation shared between two privileged teenagers from very different backgrounds sets off a chain of events with devastating consequences.On the surface, Niru leads a charmed life. Raised by two attentive parents in Washington, D.C., he’s a top student and a track star at his prestigious private high school. Bound for Harvard in the fall, his prospects are bright. But Niru has a painful secret: he is queer—an abominable sin to his conservative Nigerian parents. No one knows except Meredith, his best friend, the daughter of prominent Washington insiders—and the one person who seems not to judge him.When his father accidentally discovers Niru is gay, the fallout is brutal and swift. Coping with troubles of her own, however, Meredith finds that she has little left emotionally to offer him. As the two friends struggle to reconcile their desires against the expectations and institutions that seek to define them, they find themselves speeding toward a future more violent and senseless than they can imagine. Neither will escape unscathed.In the tradition of Junot Diaz’s The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Americanah, Speak No Evil explores what it means to be different in a fundamentally conformist society and how that difference plays out in our inner and outer struggles. It is a novel about the power of words and self-identification, about who gets to speak and who has the power to speak for other people. As heart-wrenching and timely as his breakout debut, Beasts of No Nation, Uzodinma Iweala’s second novel cuts to the core of our humanity and leaves us reeling in its wake.

Contributors

Author:
Iweala, Uzodinma

Further information

Review:
"The classic coming-out narrative describes how the central character makes a leap from one identity to another, into a different, freer life, while the classic immigrant novel depicts what it's like to straddle two worlds, old and new, with a foothold in each. Speak No Evil is both and neither.... The soul of Speak No Evil is the tortuous, exquisitely rendered relationship between Niru and his father." The New Yorker
Language:
English
Number of Pages:
224
Media Type:
Hardcover
Publisher:
HarperCollins US

Master Data

Product Type:
Hardback book
Release date:
March 6, 2018
Package Dimensions:
0.235 x 0.161 x 0.023 m; 0.405 kg
GTIN:
09780061284922
DUIN:
FLQ4ON0UE14
Manufacturer Part Number:
29878925
$26.65
We use cookies on our website to make our services more efficient and more user-friendly. Therefore please select "Accept cookies"! Please read our Privacy Policy for further information.